Lowick Parish Council

What is a parish council?

Parishes are the smallest areas of civil administration in England. Parish councils provide the statutory tier of local government closest to the people.

Civil parishes should not be confused with Church of England ecclesiastical parishes and their parochial church councils.

Parish councils are an essential part of the structure of local democracy and have a vital role in acting on behalf of the communities they represent.

Parish councils have a wide range of legal duties and powers and have the power to raise money through the local council tax.